

Berne, 14 January 2002

International Bureau Circular

15

Russian Federation – Illegal issues of postage stamps

Dear Sir/Madam

The postal administration of the **RUSSIAN FEDERATION** asks me to inform you of the following:

"As a member of the Universal Postal Union, the postal administration of the Russian Federation issues postage stamps in accordance with the provisions of the Universal Postal Convention and the Letter Post Regulations.

"However, there has recently appeared on world philatelic markets a large number of illicit stamp issues distributed on behalf of official territorial entities of the Russian Federation. These issues feature 'fashionable' subjects such as political figures, sports celebrities, Hollywood movie stars, etc.

"The postal administration of the Russian Federation draws your attention to the fact that the regions on whose behalf these stamps have been issued form an integral part of the Russian Federation and that, according to the provisions of the UPU Regulations and Russian Federation legislation, they are not authorized to issue postage stamps independently (the list of these regions appears in the annex). All stamps issued on behalf of official territorial entities of the Russian Federation must therefore be regarded as illegal. They have no connection with the Post and cannot be used as an official means of indicating prepayment of postage.

"These forged stamps are being issued by anonymous private companies operating outside Russia and have no direct connection with the official territorial entities of the Russian Federation.

"The distribution of illegal postage stamps does serious moral and economic harm to the Russian Federation, discredits the Russian postal service in the eyes of the world philatelic community and encourages collectors to avoid buying not only illegal but also perfectly legal stamp issues."

Yours faithfully,

K J S McKEOWN Director of Communications and Postal Markets

Annex

List of regions of the Russian Federation on whose behalf illegal stamps have been issued

Altai Region

Amurskaya Province

Antarctic Regions of the Russian Federation

Jewish Autonomous Region

Franz Josef Land

Autonomous Region of Evenkia

Republic of Kabard-Balkaria

Kamchatka Region

Republic of Karachay-Cherkessia

Autonomous Region of Koriakia

Kuril islands

Novosibirsk islands

Kolguev Island

Kunashir Island

Novaya Zemla

Spitsbergen Island

Republic of Adygea

Republic of Bashkortostan

Republic of Buryatia

Republic of Dagestan

Republic of Ingushetia

Republic of Ishkeria

Republic of Kalmykia

Republic of Karelia

Komi Republic

Mari-El Republic

Republic of Mordovia

Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

Republic of North Ossetia

Republic of Tatarstan

Republic of Tuva

Khakass Republic

Sakhalin Region

Republic of Udmurtia

Chechen Republic

Republic of Chuvashia